My another traditional and favorite maharashtrian dish is Sabudana vada also called ‘sago vada’,  which is a traditional deep fried snack from Maharashtra.
As festive season start like Shravan mas, Ganapati festival, Navratri.. it is best option for fasting. These are crunchy and simply melt in the mouth leaving the stomach full and the tongue craving for more. Well, it is not compulsory to have it only in fast/vrat, you can enjoy in mansoon also… just imagine its raining outside, you are enjoying rain with hot ginger tea and sabudana vada 🙂
Usually it is fried snack  but when you crave for some mouth watering food, you don’t care about health! but as I am a health conscious person … I don’t eat fried snacks very often,I wanted it in healthy way. I was thinking to make it healthy and I got in my mind…can I use my appe pan to cook vadas ? Soon I prepared everything and started to experiment… and guess what ? I got best result… without changing the taste.

Here is my reciepe….

sabudana vada DSC_0018-001

Ingredients:

1 Cup Sabudana/sago(washed and soaked overnight or atleast 4-6 hours)
1 Medium size potato (boiled, peeled & mashed)
3-4 green chilies finely chopped or paste
2-3 tbp roasted peanuts coarsely grounded
Salt as per taste
1 tsp cumin/jeera(optional)
1tbp Coriander finely chopped
oil
Method:
Mix all the ingredients except oil.

sabudana vada

Heat appe pan on medium high heat, add 2-4 drops of oil. take 1 drop of oil/ water on palm and make small balls(smaller than golf ball), place balls in appe pan let it cook for 5-7 min till it gets golden color. Change the sides using fork/spoon, cook till all side gets golden color.

sabudana vada
Sabudana vadas are ready, serve with tomato ketchup, shengdana/peanut chutney, coconut chutney or just plain.

 

sabudana vada DSC_0022-001

