DSC_0066 (1300x867)

A very exotic dessert which is made by Muslims on the occasion of Eid ul-Fitr and Eid al-Adha in India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh. It is a traditional dessert which is serve as a breakfast after Eid Prayer on day of Eid.
I remember when our neighbor used to gives a big plate of goods and sheer khurma on the festive of Eid, that is how I introduced to Sheer khurma but in later year we moved somewhere else and I couldn’t taste it again for a long. But luckily when I was working, I had a roommate in hostel. She was a Muslim, and I got chance to enjoy sheer khurma again along with my friends. She made sheer khurma for all of us on Eid and we enjoyed a lot. It was very authentic and favorable dessert I have ever tasted, It been years now but I can still smell its exotic aroma and flavor.
So I Decided to make it home, I did many experiment but get close to real taste of sheer khurma. but finely one of my experiment got close taste to it which is I’m sharing.

Ingredients:
4 1/2 Cup milk
1/2 Cup thin vermicelli
10 dates
3 green Cardamom
3 Tbsp Raisins
2 Tbsp Charoli
10-12 Almonds
7-8 Pistchio
10 Cashews
1/4 Inch cinnamon stick
3-4 Tbsp sugar
1 Tbsp ghee
few strands of saffron

Method:
In 1/2 cup warm milk, soak 6 dates for at least 30 mins-1 hours. In thick bottom skillet, boil milk on medium low heat and reduce it to its 3/4 of its quantity stirring continuously. Meanwhile chop all dry fruits thinly, chop remaining dates finely. In a pan heat ghee on low heat, roast vermicelli, green cardamom, and cinnamon till vermicelli gets light brown and add it to boiling milk. In same ghee, roast all dry fruits, remove from pan and add it to milk. Roast sliced dates in remaining ghee, add it to milk. add the milk along with dates which we soaked earlier, add sugar and check for the sweetness. cook till vermicelli gets cooked and desired consistency is obtained. Remove from the heat and add soaked saffron and milk at the end.
Garnish with some dry fruits and serve hot, warm  or cold. Enjoy a very delicious, exotic sweet/dessert. 🙂

Tips:
1)The vermicelli should be thin.
2) You can use dry dates also, it should be soaked in warm milk for overnight or at-least 3-4 hours, then remove seeds and slice it.
3)If you want dark saffron flavor, add it to vermicelli mixture and cook for 1 minute.

DSC_0067 (1300x793)

