DSC_0333 (1300x867)
DSC_0321 (1300x867)

15thAug, 1947, It was the day when India(Hindustan)got Independence from British empire.
When I was in my high school, We used to arrange some cultural programs on the 26th January(Republic day of India) and 15th, August ( Independence day of India ) every year. As I said , I love singing… I used to sing patriotic songs  like Ye mere pyare watan, Ye mere watan ke logo, jayostute, & many more.
Few weeks back India celebrated an Independence day. Like any other Indian , I’m proud of  being an Indian. There is a group called CCC(Crave Cook Click) and I am the member of that group. It is very fun filled group with so many activities, talents and recipes. Every month we have a meetup with different themes and recipes. I always love to go for the meetup, catch up with my friends and always like to learn something new.  Last to last weekend we had an Independence day theme meetup , where we had to cook tricolor food.
In India, the term “tricolour” (Hindi: तिरंगा, Tirangā) always refers to the Indian national flag. Indian flag has three colors horizontal bands which is Orange/ Deep Saffron, White and Green. The White, Middle band of flag contains a Ashoka chakra in navy blue colour with 24 equally spaced spokes.  every color represents something Like,

Orange/ Deep saffron Stands for renunciation, disinterestedness, courage and sacrifice
White symbolizes truth, peace and purity
Green represents prosperity, vibrancy and life.
The Ashok Chakra (wheel) represents the righteousness, progress and perpetuity. The 24 spokes of the wheel represents the 24 hours of a day

The philosopher Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, who later became India’s first Vice President and second President, clarified the adopted flag and described its significance as follows:

” Bhagwa or the saffron colour denotes renunciation or disinterestedness. Our leaders must be indifferent to material gains and dedicate themselves to their work.
The white in the centre is light, the path of truth to guide our conduct.
The green shows our relation to (the) soil, our relation to the plant life here, on which all other life depends.
The “Ashoka Chakra” in the center of the white, is the wheel of the law of dharma. Truth or satya, dharma or virtue ought to be the controlling principle of those who work under this flag. Again, the wheel denotes motion. There is death in stagnation. There is life in movement. India should no more resist change, it must move and go forward. The wheel represents the dynamism of a peaceful change. ”
This is the reason we choose to make tricolor food and celebrate the Independence day of India in this way. When I got to know the theme, the only one dish came into my mind was jello but in tricolor. I t was very nice and Interesting recipe to make But I didn’t want to make it with artificial colors. I wanted to make it with real, natural flavors and colors. So an idea came into my mind, why not to make it with fruits? Luckily, I had everything in my home to make tricolor jello with it so I just ran into my kitchen started to make it. the first fruit I was thinking was Orange for Orange color but I had mangoes sitting in the fridge and its pulp was in orange color so I choose mango. For while color… after thinking a lot I could only decide Coconut milk, Because nothing can give us a bright, white white color andd for Green, nothing can beat the Kiwi fruit. So I decided to give it a try  for perfect flavors and colors before making in a huge quantity for the meetup. We already knows that mango and coconut works well together!
I took all the ingredients and started to make jelly. Shravan month has already started,and I really don’t like to use gelatin powder. I used agar agar for making jelly. Guess what, My recipe got successful in every manner. so today, I’m sharing my recipe which is very easy, less ingredients, tastes amazingly refresh and also a no fail recipe. ….

Ingredients:
Green: Kiwi jelly/layer
1 Cup Kiwi pulp (Peel the kiwi fruits(around 4-5) cut into cube, put in blender and make a puree)
1 Cup water
1 1/4 Tsp agar agar powder
5-6 Tbsp Sugar

White: Coconut jelly/layer
1 Cup Coconut milk (I used canned coconut milk)
1 Cup water
1/4 Cup Sugar
1 1/4 Tsp agar agar powder

Orange: Mango jelly/layer
1 Cup mango pulp (remove flesh from the mango , put in a blender and make a lump free pulp)
1 Cup water
5-6 Tbsp Sugar (Optionl)
1/2 Tbsp lemon juice(optional)
1 1/4 Tsp agar agar powder

   Method:
In a vessel take cold water, add agar agar powder and stir it well(I prefer to use whisker, it makes work easy). Now put on heat on medium high and let it boil by steering continuously. Take small portion of the mixture and see if agar-agar powder is dissolved completely. once its dissolved and boiled, add sugar and mix well. Put heat on medium and now pour the kiwi pulp into the water, agar-agar mixture. Mix it well until smooth, put heat on high and let boil, once it starts to boil remove it from heat and pour evenly into any mold or tray you like. I used glass one. let it set for few minutes just to set the surface(around 3-5 min). (agar agar powder sets on the room temperature, so you have to work quickly). If any bubbles formes, just remove it using spoon.
Now follow the same procedure for Coconut jelly. Once the Coconut mixture is ready, You can use this immediately if the Kiwi layer has set, if the Kiwi layer has not set, keep this mixture warm, covered, over the lowest heat setting on the stove to prevent it from setting too soon and becoming clumpy.Once the surface of the Kiwi layer has set, gently pour the coconut layer over the back of a spoon on to the Kiwi base (if you pour too hard it might break or cause dents in the Kiwi layer).
Follow the same procedure for the Mango jelly and let it set for 2-3 Hours. when cold, Cut into cubes or the shape you like. Serve cold, chilled.

jelly

jello
Tips:
1) The most important thing is,We need to make each jelly separately as we don’t want mix up the colors. (use different vessel, or just wash the vessel you used to make jelly before. It is very easy to clean ,also saves your efforts to wash the more utensils). And the best thing meanwhile your jelly will be setting perfectly.
2)I used well ripped Kiwis. I didn’t remove the seeds of kiwis, as I wanted little crunchiness to jellos but one can remove it if wish. At time of blending, blend it till u get smooth, lump free pulp. but don’t over blend as seeds will get blended to and it will change the color of pulp completely.
3) I used fresh mango, One can use canned pulp.
4) I used chaokoh coconut milk. one can try with fresh coconut milk, but take care with brown flesh of coconut as it can change the color of coconut milk.
5) After making pulp, taste the sweetness of fruit. Sugar measurement is all depend on the sweetness of the fruit.
6)Coconut milk was unsweetened, so I added this much sugar. Kiwi was bit sour, so I added only few tbsp sugar.
7) If any one wants to add more sugar , when u add the pulp into mixture. Taste it and if wish can add sugar at this time also but make use to mix well.
8)Best time to add sugar is after boiling the mixture of water and agar-agar.
9) I added lemon Juice to mango pulp because the pulp was very sweet and I wanted it to be little sour.
10) One can mix mango pulp with Orange pulp in the portion of  1/2:1/2. Or use all Orange pulp instead of mango pulp.
11) If any of the layer get sets completely before you pour another mixture to make a layer, After setting it completely, it wont stick to another layer. Means, Once the jelly sets.. the layer will get separated. So, make sure you are making another layer at perfect time not very late.
Most imp: To find the right time for layering…. lightly touch the jelly( after 30 sec-1 minutes) with your finger,it should be tacky but not wet and stick to your finger.  This is the indication the existing layer is firm enough to hold the next layer.
12)One can use small shots glass or molds to make it separately.

DSC_0327 (1300x867)

