DSC_0151 (1100x733)

DSC_0154 (1100x733)

Few years back I was watching some program of Chef Vineet Bhatia. Programs name was ‘Twist of taste with Vineet Bhatia’ which was aired on Fox History and Traveller channel. I remember him showing lots of fusion recipes, I don’t remember all the recipes but somehow I remember one fusion recipe which he showed in that program, which was really a surprise. I don’t remember the whole recipe but I remember the name. ..Puran poli ice cream!
Yes, you read  it correct. Ice cream made with Puran(sweet lentil mixture made with cooked chana dal) and some other ingredients. As I said, I don’t remember the recipe, also I couldn’t find it on internet but I was so eager to make it the moment I saw him making . Finally, today I made it! It was my first attempt and I was totally experimenting.  But I could say, I nailed it!! I donno the taste of ice cream he made, but I’m loving my version a lot. Hope you guys will give it a try too, and let me know if you like it. 🙂

Ingredients:
1/2 Cup unsweetned mawa/koya/khava/evaporated milk (I used fresh)
1/2 Cup Puran
3/4 Cup Milk
1/2 Tsp Cardamom powder
1-2 Drops of Kewda essence(Optional)
Saffron milk ( 2Tbsp warm milk and 2-3 Strands of saffron/kesar, soak for 3-5 minutes)
Sugar, if only needed
2-3 Tbsp pounded dry fruits (Almond, Cashew, Pistachio)

DSC_0145 (1100x698)

Method:
Heat a thick bottomed pan(use nonstick if possible)on medium heat. Heat Milk once milk starts to boil add mava and mix well. Cook for 2 minutes, stirring continuously. Mix remaining ingredients except sugar. Mix well, check for sweetness, if needed add sugar as per taste. For me it was perfect without adding sugar.  Let it cool, Transfer it to a glass container and refrigerate for 12 hours or overnight.
or you can transfer the mixture into kulfi mold, refrigerate for overnight and enjoy as a kulfi.

Tips:
1) Do not heat on milkon high flame, milk will stick and burn at bottom.
2) We are heating mixture just for mixing ingredients together, also we don’t want to add raw milk to our ice cream.
3) If using frozen mawa, make sure to it is completely thawed, and soft.
4) One can add more saffron if likes strong saffron taste. Adding more saffron will give nice golden/yellow color to ice cream.

DSC_0150 (1100x733)

DSC_0127 (1100x733)

