DSC_0033 (800x533)

I am making lots of changes in my diet. I want to eat healthy, at the same time I don’t want to compromise the taste. Carrot halwa/gajar halwa is a very popular Indian sweet dish and I love it, but It has lot’s of ghee and sugar when making traditionally. I’m definitely cutting down on my sugar and additional fat, so thought of making it differently. In this recipe we are not using ghee/clarified butter, not adding sugar but we are using natural fat from Coconut milk and natural sugar/sweetness form dates and believe me it tastes exactly the traditional one tastes.

Ingredients:
8 Medium sized carrots, peeled and grated
1 Can of light coconut milk (about 1 and ½ cups)(I used caned)
1/2 Cup of dates, de-seeded  and cut into small pieces (I took around 1/4 cup as I don’t like very sweet)
1/4Cup of coarsely ground almonds (can be a mixture of almonds and pistachios)
1/2-1 Tsp green cardamom powder

DSC_0038 (800x533)

Method:
In a thick bottomed pan, add grated carrots and cook on low heat while stirring continuously. Meanwhile take 3-4 Tbsp of coconut milk, add chopped dates and make puree and set aside. Now add remaining coconut milk into the grated carrots, put flame on medium heat and cook till coconut milk gets evaporated and mixture thickens. Now add dates puree, add cardamom powder and grounded almonds cook till mixture thickens and carrots becomes soft. Serve hot or cold and enjoy 🙂

Tips:
1) Carrots has it’s sweetness and as I don’t like very sweet, the proportion of dates was perfect for me.
2) We are adding dates puree at almost last because sometimes dates curdles the hot milk.
3) We are not adding any type of fat. When the mixture becomes thick and coconut milk gets evaporated completely it will leave its fat.
4)The halwa I made was very smooth and melt in mouth. If you don’t like it very soft. Add little less coconut milk.
5) This dish need lots of stirring and patience as we are not using any type of fat, we are cooking it on medium-low heat. Also, coconut milk takes time to evaporate/absorb. So be patient. 🙂

DSC_0032 (800x533)

