dsc_0174-1000x667

 

dsc_0172-1000x667

 

Well, first of all I would like to wish you all a very Happy and Prosperous new year.

It’s been over a year since I posted/ wrote something. 2019 went so fast with some good, sweet and some sad memories. I came across to this quote of Haruki Murakami, which has actually motivated me.

“Every one of us is losing something precious to us. Lost opportunities, lost possibilities, feelings we can never get back again. That’s what part of it means to be alive. But inside our heads — at least that’s where I imagine it — there’s a little room where we store those memories. A room like the stacks in this library. And to understand the workings of our own heart we have to keep on making new reference cards. We have to dust things off every once in a while, let fresh air in, change the water in the flower vases. In other words, you’ll live for ever in your own private library.” 

And since we have stepped into a new year, I thought … why not to start again?  So here I am!! I am starting my new year with this healthy dessert to make the new year more sweet. It’s made of Oat’s and for sweetness I’ve used Dates. The texture is not as soft the normal cake but if you are really craving for a cake or something sweet, try this one. Oat’s gives a unique taste to this cake.

Ingredients:
1/2 Cup oats grounded to fine powder or store bought oats flour
1 1/2 Tbsp cocoa powder
1/4 Cup deseeded dates chopped( around 8-9 dates)
1/4 Cup milk
2 Tbsp olive oil/butter
1/2 Tsp baking powder
1/4th tsp vanilla extract/essence

Method:
First preheat the oven at 180°C/365°F. Grease & flour the baking tray.
Soak chopped dates in warm milk for 30 minutes(if dates are too soft, no need to soak them ). Once it’s soaked, put it into blender and blend it to puree. I’ve made the Oat’s flour at home, but you can use store bought. Sift together oats flour, cocoa powder, baking powder. Mix vanilla extract and oil to dates milk puree.  Gently add it to sifted flour mixture. Shift this batter into a baking tray and bake for approximately 10-12 minutes or unless a tooth pick inserted in the cake comes out clean. Keep checking as oven temperature varies as per the oven.

dsc_0177-1000x667

 

Let it cool, you can decorate with some melted chocolate or enjoy as it is. You can serve it with hot milk as well.

 

Tip:
1) I did not ground oat’s to a fine powder(You can see the texture in the photo), as I wanted to see the texture after baking. Fine powder will definitely give a different texture.